Both landlords and tenants should be ready to deal with many legal topics and queries with the Michigan lease agreement, once they know the basics of state law. This article will guide you on how to create a Michigan lease agreement.
What Is a Michigan Lease Agreement?
A Michigan lease agreement is a contract between the landlord and the tenant that records through addressing the responsibilities that both parties have toward the property. It will display the amount of rent that needs to be paid as well as how the property may be used. All Michigan lease agreements must be formed according to the state’s landlord-tenant laws. Both the landlord and tenant should agree to almost anything in a lease that doesn’t break federal, state, or local laws. Before signing lease agreements, the landlord can perform a tenant screening process with the help of a rental application form.
How to Write a Standard Lease Agreement in Michigan?
You can download a Michigan residential lease agreement from CocoDoc and edit the PDF template within the platform as per your requirements.
Fill out the following information to create a Michigan residential lease agreement:
- Classify the landlord and tenant by their legal names and their class.
- Add the date when the lease was formed and when it ends. A standard lease agreement is normally written with a duration of one year.
- Repairs and Maintenance: It should describe how the tenant may request repairs. It should also enter a phone number that the tenant may call to tell problems.
- Each tenant who will be liable for the lease should list their name.
- The amount of rent that will be paid throughout the lease, the due amount of each month, when it is due, and how it should be paid.
- Security Deposit: List the amount of security deposit the tenant paid to the landlord. Also, enter the date when the security deposit was paid.
- The address which services and amenities the tenant and the landlord will be liable for paying.
- Pets: If a tenant will have a pet on the property. It should also list any restrictions on the quantity or breed.
- Non-refundable Cleaning Fee: It shows the amount of money the tenant is required to pay at the starting of the lease.
- List the instruments or furniture given by the landlord that the tenant may use.
- Additional Provisions: To discuss any other terms or conditions of the Michigan rental agreement.
- Include a space for the written names and signatures of both the tenant and the landlord.
What Disclosures Must Be Made in a Michigan Lease and Rental Agreement?
Dishonored payment fees: The landlord must disclose dishonored payment fees in the Michigan rental agreement. These fees must be priced at $25 if paid within seven days and $35 if paid within thirty days.
Marijuana use policy: Michigan state law already permits marijuana for medicinal use. Landlords are urged to disclose any similar policies in the Michigan lease agreement. Being proactive with this system will help keep you ahead of the new rule. Having a clear set of rules identified by both the landlord and tenant will prevent any legal problems about marijuana use.
Domestic violence: A tenant who has a sensible perception of existing danger to him or her from domestic violence, or sexual assault may have special legal rights to inquire about a statement of a rental commitment under MCL 554.601b. This law is created to help assure the safety and well-being of domestic violence sufferers, enabling them to leave a serious situation without acquiring financial difficulty.
Late fees: Disclosure of any late fees the tenant may provoke should be done up-front as part of the Michigan lease agreement, to assure that the tenant knows all outcomes for late payment before signing.
Shared utility systems: If full-building utilities will be divided proportionally between tenants, you are encouraged to confess the exact ratio that will be used to define the tenant’s utility costs per month.
What Do You Need to Know About Michigan Lease Agreement Deposits?
A lease cannot violate any rules about security deposits. A security deposit is a money the tenant gives to the landlord when moving in. Under state law, the landlord may not demand higher than one and a half months of rent as a security deposit (A security deposit receipt should be issued if required). Essential details about security deposits, including the landlord’s use and return of the deposit, schedule of the return after the lease ended or the tenant has moved out, where the deposit will be held in, and any interest that will be given on it.
Both parties must always follow the laws regarding landlord-tenant relationships. This article contains details about the Michigan lease agreement and how to create one. Before signing the agreement, carefully read out the terms, policies, and rules according to your need for the property.